Standing Out on a Budget: My Creative Approach to Portfolio Design

Standing Out on a Budget: My Creative Approach to Portfolio Design

Simplifying Design: My Approach to a Cost-Effective Portfolio Site

ยท

3 min read

I have never felt better about my level of creativity than when I decided to use my CV layout as a UI reference to build my portfolio website. This decision paid off by making my portfolio one of the most visually stunning things I've done. ๐Ÿ˜… Lol, to be honest, the idea was conceived out of not having the budget to hire a UI designer to design a portfolio website for me and not having the budget to purchase expensive web templates but meh, I'm creative after all. After realizing that when it comes to building a portfolio website, there are no hard and fast rules. Creativity and ingenuity can make all the difference. I had to think outside the box. One random morning, I just thought "Why don't I build what looks exactly like my resume?" and here you have it, my unique portfolio, with a little more spice than my resume tho but undeniably elegant.

What's in a Portfolio website?

Your portfolio website typically contains a collection of your personal or professional work samples that showcase your skills and prove your experience. In no particular order, these elements are found in a portfolio website:

  1. Home/Introduction/Summary (mandatory): A brief introduction to who you are, your full name and alias*(optional)*, your background, and what you do.

  2. Profile/Experience/Skills (mandatory): A section that provides a more detailed description of your experience, education and skills.

  3. Work Samples/Projects (mandatory): Now here's the main section of a portfolio website. This section could include screenshots or video evidence of your work, It could also include writing samples if you are a writer or live links to your main blog or apps you have built(if you are a developer).

  4. Contact (mandatory): Your contact information, such as email address, phone number, and social media links, to make it easy for potential clients or employers to get in touch.

  5. Testimonials (optional): This section is optional. Only people who have a lot of experience and have worked in many places can include this section. It contains reviews from previous clients or employers, highlighting the person's strengths and achievements.

  6. Blog (optional): Another optional section where you can showcase your writing skills or samples.

What's in a CV?

Everything mandatory that is in your portfolio website is in your CV. Yes, even work samples and projects are in your CV but not as videos, this time around as links!

If they're this similar, why shouldn't they look identical?

Seeing that I have a comprehensive CV and it contains 100% of the mandatory content I need to build a portfolio website, why not build one that is identical in layout to my CV? I gave it a shot, added a little more spice (conditional animations and relevant images) and the result is actually pleasing. It's elegant and unique in its own way. The website just looks like a corporate document, no moody colours, just a perfect balance between high-class business vibe and tranquil minimalism โ€” though all of this came as a result of me first not having money to move with the crowd and get a designer, or lift a template.

ย